vanisleva.com Forum Index vanisleva.com
ViVa's pilot forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Flash chat

FSBlackBox update
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    vanisleva.com Forum Index -> Pilots Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:15 pm    Post subject: FSBlackBox update Reply with quote

I've just uploaded a new version of FSBlackBox. This version adds fsx compatibility, and fixes a memory error that might caused some problems, so all users should download the new version. Get it here:

http://www.vanisleva.com/download/FSBlackBox1003.zip
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ken,

just tried the new verion on my setup which is WideFS via FSUIPC. And the new black box does not want to start. It tells me to re-install the application.

I had been using the old version before with FSX with a little work around.
1. Start FS9 (still my main sim anyways) on PC#1
2. Start WideClient on PC#2
3. Start BlackBox on PC#2
4. Shut down FS9 on PC#1 and start FSX without touching anything on PC#2

I'll stick with that for now since it doe work Very Happy
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds like you are missing the Visual Studio runtime files. You can get them here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=32bc1bee-a3f9-4c13-9c99-220b62a191ee&displaylang=en

Install them on the machine you are running fsblackbox on.
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ken...I will give that a try.
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
EdCycler
Major Flight Poster


Joined: 07 Nov 2007
Posts: 156
Location: Leesburg, VA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:57 am    Post subject: FSBlackBox Reply with quote

Tried FSBlackBox for FSX. Works as advertised. Thanks Ken.
_________________
Ed - KJYO
VI623, FSX, FSGensis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI007
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ken
_________________
David V

Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core2Duo E8500 @ 3.16ghz / 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 / Nvidia Geforce 8800GT 512mb / Soundblaster Xfi
Windows XP SP3 - FS9 - FSX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed the C++ file on the #2 PC and rebooted...same result as before.
The connection to the sim via WideFS is working...since all the other programs I use can get their bits and bites (ASV and the GNS sims) but the new version of BB still terminates.

I tried a new folder with just what is in the zip file and one where I copied in the ini file from the last version. Same result.

No need to loose sleep over it...still use FS9 most of the time anyways. Very Happy
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I think about it, it sounds like you still have the old version. Maybe it was cached somewhere. If you right-click on fsblackbox.exe and look at the file properties, it should be version 1.003, not version 1.002. Can you check that for me? Thanks!
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does come back as 1.0.03 so that is probably not the issue. In the zip file I have only 4 files. airport and aircraft txt, the exe file and routes.ini

I have tried the config.ini file from the working BB folder but that doesn't seem to do it Very Happy
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ini file is generated automatically when you run the settings dialog, it's not the cause of the problem. Do you get any error messages or does it just disappear?

Anyone else have this problem?
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the error message that opens up....


And itappears to be not the WideFs setup either because it does the same thing on the main PC as well.
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's definitely a missing dll file, I'll try to figure it out.
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't trouble yourself too much with it Ken..especially if I am the only one with the issue.
I still have the work around Very Happy
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stephan, do me a favour and download this file and put it in your fsblackbox folder:

http://www.vanisleva.com/download/FSBlackBox.exe

Thanks!
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sunny9850
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6081
Location: SoCal whishing it was Victoria,BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downloaded....will test it tomorrow. Done for today Very Happy Thanks for all the work you put in.
_________________
Save and Happy Landings
AOPA....protecting the freedom of flight.

"Truely superior pilots use their suprior knowledge to avoid situations where they would need their superior skills"
There,their and they're are not the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    vanisleva.com Forum Index -> Pilots Lounge All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group