vanisleva.com Forum Index vanisleva.com
ViVa's pilot forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Flash chat

Announcing FSBlackBox -flight tracking software for Viva
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    vanisleva.com Forum Index -> Pilots Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just checked Blair... the wife must have taken the camera with her. She is in P.E.I. till Sunday. I will post a pic a soon.
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten


Last edited by VI3058 on Sun May 21, 2006 9:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan VI490
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 712
Location: CZBB Delta,BC

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya I think I would too, Murray - it's all I can do to keep FS running smoothly on 1 PC and 1 monitor Laughing
_________________
Alan VI490
VATCAN1


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here ya go Blair (Guys)...







_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI007
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice setup! Do you find the CH throttle quadrant worthwhile for the 2nd set of controls?
_________________
David V

Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core2Duo E8500 @ 3.16ghz / 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 / Nvidia Geforce 8800GT 512mb / Soundblaster Xfi
Windows XP SP3 - FS9 - FSX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David, yes I do.

I use all the toggles to simulate an MCP (or AP) functions (twelve in total) . The slider to the left I use for applying the speed brake, and the slider to the right I use for flaps. I use the center four for 2 and 4 engine throttle control and the indent position for engine reverse.

Once you get used to the programing software that CHP uses, you can set up pre-programing for any aircraft. It isn't "super" easy to use, but easy enough IMHO.

BTW, MaxiVista Pro is not the problem after all. I had made some changes to my FS9.cfg file to try and get an FPS boost after installing Vancouver +. Something on my system did not like the change... obviously. I "think" everything is OK now... fingers crossed! Wink
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blair
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 1563
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add wings and a prop and you'd be good to go!
_________________
Blair
CYOW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blair wrote:
Add wings and a prop and you'd be good to go!


Didn't you see them Blair? I'll have to take a pic from a different angle next time! Laughing
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan VI490
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 712
Location: CZBB Delta,BC

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice set-up, Murray...I spend too much time in front of the PC now - with that rig...I'd just move my bed down into the basement (a.k.a. - the flight room) Laughing

edit: oh yeah, forgot why I came into this thread -

Ken (or anyone else) I'm finding that FSBlackbox seems to be misreading my flight times, I just did a 46 minute flight and the box recorded it as 1.22 hours (airborne portion only) is this a bug that needs to be addressed? Has anyone else come across this?
_________________
Alan VI490
VATCAN1


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David V had a similar problem, and there may be some crashing issues too. I'll spend some time looking at it this week. But is that a presistent problem, or did it just happen once?
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alan VI490
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 712
Location: CZBB Delta,BC

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be a couple of times now but, doesn't happen every time Ken.
_________________
Alan VI490
VATCAN1


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alan VI490 wrote:
Nice set-up, Murray...I spend too much time in front of the PC now - with that rig...I'd just move my bed down into the basement (a.k.a. - the flight room) Laughing


Very Happy

Thanks Alan. It certainly is not as complex as I would like, but it is as complex as the wife (and my budget) will allow. Smile
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan VI490
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 712
Location: CZBB Delta,BC

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not doing it anymore, Ken...chalk it up to gremlins....or perhaps the "local" rodent has been up to no good again...anyone seen Chester lately Question Razz Laughing
_________________
Alan VI490
VATCAN1


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lars
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 1102
Location: Riesa, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VI3058 wrote:
After 4 flights (I think) I had a crash without BB running. I "think" I know what is causing the problem... MaxiVista Pro. This program allows me to use four monitors connected to two computers, and control both computers from one mouse and keyboard.


Out of curiosity, why don't you use a hardware KVM switch?
That's what I have - Although I only have 3 monitors on two computers Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lars wrote:
VI3058 wrote:
After 4 flights (I think) I had a crash without BB running. I "think" I know what is causing the problem... MaxiVista Pro. This program allows me to use four monitors connected to two computers, and control both computers from one mouse and keyboard.


Out of curiosity, why don't you use a hardware KVM switch?
That's what I have - Although I only have 3 monitors on two computers Smile


Lars:

Because MaxiVista Pro allows you to use as many monitor/computer combinations as you can connect on a LAN. I possible confused things by describing my present setup, which obviously does not use MaxiVista Pro to it's full advantage.

Oh, and in case anyone is wondering, MaxiVista does not do mutliple views properly. It just allows you to move pop-up windows and programs (i.e. FSNavigator)from the main computer/monitor to different monitors that are connected to other computers on the LAN.

This is not a new concept BTW. This has been possible on UNIX/Linux machines for years.
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lars
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 1102
Location: Riesa, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gotcha! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    vanisleva.com Forum Index -> Pilots Lounge All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group