vanisleva.com Forum Index vanisleva.com
ViVa's pilot forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Flash chat

Announcing FSBlackBox -flight tracking software for Viva
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    vanisleva.com Forum Index -> Pilots Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:54 am    Post subject: Announcing FSBlackBox -flight tracking software for Viva Reply with quote

Lars and I have developed a program that tracks your flights and files your pireps for you, much like the pirep filing system of FSPassengers. It also plots your flight path and shows them in the detail view of your pirep. You may have seen this in my recent pireps, and also in Irvin's pireps - he's been testing it for a while (note to Irvin - this version is improved over the one you have now). The program requires FSUIPC, free or registered, and works over wide client for those who have it.

Anyway, here's what you want first, the download link:

http://www.vanisleva.com/download/FSBlackBox1003.zip

Just unzip the contents, then start FS and then start FSBlackBox (the order doesn't matter).

Once it's running, all you do is fly. FSBlackBox does the rest for you. It automatically detects your departure and destination airports when you take off and land. When you are finished your flight, just press the report button and it files your pirep for you.

Important notes: You must enter your Viva login name and password to file a pirep.

Here's some screenshots:


The flight screen, after a flight showing the autodetected departure and destination airports, and the basic flight stats


The stats screen showing the enroute and landing stats


Telemetry page shows the the current speed, heading, altitude etc


The setup dialog - make sure you enter your Viva pilot ID and password. Leave the default values for the server stuff


The routes dialog - download and display all viva routes


The pirep dialog. You can enter your pirep comments here.


OK, that's it for now. I suppose you guys will probably find lots of bugs, so let me know. Have fun!
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4


Last edited by Ken on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ken!

I'm not absolutely sure but I think FSBlackbox is causing periodic crashes. I say I am not sure because the crashes "seem" to only happen when I use it, but, not every time. All I can say for sure is that I don't experience crashes when I don't use it.

Anyone else experiencing problems?
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI007
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't had a crash yet myself.
_________________
David V

Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core2Duo E8500 @ 3.16ghz / 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 / Nvidia Geforce 8800GT 512mb / Soundblaster Xfi
Windows XP SP3 - FS9 - FSX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi David.

I have two programs running that FSBlackbox may have a conflict with. One is MaxiVista Pro and the other is Airport Chart Viewer v5.0.

Are you using either of these programs?

I also have UT, FSGenesis, Bev, TrackIR 2 and ASV6 (on a client PC). I don't think these would cause a problem, I just thought I would mention them though in case.
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI007
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not using either of those, while running FS I run FSblackbox, ASV6, Snapper, and the FSEconomy client program.
_________________
David V

Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core2Duo E8500 @ 3.16ghz / 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 / Nvidia Geforce 8800GT 512mb / Soundblaster Xfi
Windows XP SP3 - FS9 - FSX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Murray. By crashes, do you mean that FS just quits on you? It's pretty hard to track down the cause of intermittent crashes, perhaps you could try flying with just FSBlackBox without all the other software.
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RC Bear
Major Flight Poster


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 127
Location: CYPW

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

About a week ago, Black Box seemed to be crashing the sim everytime I tried to fly over Campbell River ( regular route for me). After the 3rd crash, followed MS's help screen and found out that I didn't have the Sim upgrade 9.1.

Downloaded, installed, and not a problem since with over 30 hours flown since last Saturday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a good tip Ted. How about it Murray, do you have 9.1?
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Irvin
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 1223
Location: Port Alberni

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is strange.
I have 9.1 installed and never had a crash due to any version of Black Box.
Hopefully 9.1 will cure the problem.
_________________
Intel i5 Quad.
Nvidia 560ti
8 GB ram
FSX -- UT Canada - UT USA - UT Alaska - UT Europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ken wrote:
That's a good tip Ted. How about it Murray, do you have 9.1?


No, it's not that Guys. I have the 9.1 upgrade installed.

What I will do is fly the next 10 flights without BB and see if I get a crash. If not, I will fly with BB running and see what happens. If I get another crash, I will start removing one addon at a time to see if I can determine the problem that way.

Thanks for your suggestions guys!
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ken
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 1791
Location: Parksville, BC

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Murry, that kind of troubleshooting is painful, but that's what it takes to figure these things out.
_________________
Ken Peters, CAT4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:

After 4 flights (I think) I had a crash without BB running. I "think" I know what is causing the problem... MaxiVista Pro. This program allows me to use four monitors connected to two computers, and control both computers from one mouse and keyboard.

There is an update I have not istalled yet. I will do that and start the testing again.
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blair
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 1563
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VI3058 wrote:
This program allows me to use four monitors connected to two computers, and control both computers from one mouse and keyboard.



Shocked Shocked Shocked
_________________
Blair
CYOW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VI3058
Senior Flight Poster


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Dartmouth NS, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blair wrote:
VI3058 wrote:
This program allows me to use four monitors connected to two computers, and control both computers from one mouse and keyboard.



Shocked Shocked Shocked


Should I post a pic Blair? Smile
_________________
Happy simming!

Murray Wheten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blair
Serious Forum Addict...


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 1563
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure Murray. I'd love to see it.
_________________
Blair
CYOW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    vanisleva.com Forum Index -> Pilots Lounge All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group